Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Going to Ground: Simple Life on a Georgia Pond by Amy Blackmarr (1998)

$4.49

Paperback in Very Good (VG) condition. Please see our guide to book conditions for more details.

A lyrical collection of essays that eloquently depict a city woman's sojourn in the pine woods of Georgia

Unfulfilled by city life, Amy Blackmarr, then in her mid-thirties, sold her thriving paralegal business and returned to her Georgia roots. She passed five years in her grandfather's remote "old scarecrow of a fishing cabin" beside a South Georgia pond, where she immersed herself in her surroundings and in her writing. With warmth, charm, and humor, Blackmarr mixes vignettes from her past with reflections on the present, describing the surprising generosity of strangers; life without hot water; her two dogs, one a "lush" and the other a cave builder; the occasional visit from an alligator; her days as a two-stepping cowgirl; pheasant hunting with her third ex-husband; and the life and death of her grandmother.

In the tradition of Kathleen Norris's The Cloister Walk and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Going to Ground is Blackmarr's ode to romance, to the beauty of nature, to the joys and fears of solitary life, and to one woman's discovery of herself.