Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Promotion
Read more

The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan (2019)

$5.49

Paperback in Fine/Like New (Fn or F) condition. Please see our guide to book conditions for more details.

"Emily X.R. Pan's brilliantly crafted,harrowing first novel portrays the vast spectrum of love and grief withheart-wrenching beauty and candor. This is a very special book."
--John Green, bestselling author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down

An instant New York Times bestseller, this stunning, heartbreaking novel about grief, love, andfamily is perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Celeste Ng.


Leigh Chen Sanders is absolutely certain about one thing: When her mother died by suicide, she turned into a bird.


Leigh, who is half Asian and half white, travels to Taiwan to meet hermaternal grandparents for the first time. There, she is determined tofind her mother, the bird. In her search, she winds up chasing afterghosts, uncovering family secrets, and forging a new relationship withher grandparents. And as she grieves, she must try to reconcile the fact that on the same day she kissed her best friend and longtime secretcrush, Axel, her mother was taking her own life.


Alternating between reality and magic, past and present, hope and despair, The Astonishing Color of After is a luminous debut novel about finding oneself through family history, art, bravery, and love.